You are here

News: Wednesday, December 13th, 2017

Chair & Vice-Chair re-elected for the Abbotsford Board of Education

The Abbotsford Board of Education has re-elected their Chair and Vice-Chair. Trustee Shirley Wilson was re-elected as Chair at last night’s public meeting of the Board. Wilson was first elected to the Board of Education in 2005 and took on the role of Board Chair in November 2016. Trustee Stan Petersen was re-elected as Vice-Chair. Petersen was first elected to the Board of Education in 2011 and took on the role of Board Vice-Chair in November 2016.

During her inaugural address, Wilson acknowledged and thanked her colleagues for giving her the opportunity to serve as Chair for another term and congratulated Vice-Chair, Stan Petersen, on his re-election.

“As the Abbotsford School District continues to grow and evolve, we have much to celebrate and many ways to share success,” noted Wilson. “We continue with our strategic direction, marking progress in many areas including our own Board governance.”

The new Chair acknowledged a number of district accomplishments and highlights in 2017, including:

  • Abbotsford Restorative Justice’s 2017 Restorative & Peaceful Schools Award was presented to Superintendent Kevin Godden;
  • The Board was provided with a review of 2 District programs as they align with our vision – French Immersion and Yale Sports Academies;
  • Abbotsford School of Integrated Arts Sumas Mountain was designated as a 2016-2018 Exemplary School by the Arts Schools Network;
  • W. J. Mouat’s football field was renamed to “Latham Field” in honour of longtime educator and former Principal Jim Latham; and
  • An inclusive playground at McMillan Elementary was built for all children of all abilities partially funded through the Rick Hansen Foundation.

“We continue to be committed to providing a world-class, innovative, and individualized educational experience for every student,” expressed Wilson. “With 2018 in our viewfinder, let’s do this!”

The Chair and Vice-Chair are elected annually at a regular Board meeting.

Full Remarks: A Letter to Our Public - Shirley Wilson

Media Contact:

Kayla Stuckart, Communications Manager
Phone: (604) 859 – 4891 ext. 1206